Museums in Oberon
Oberon has a number of museums where the district’s history is proudly displayed through a great number of interesting exhibits. In town is the Military Museum, the Railway Museum and the Oberon and District Museum. Further afield, the Rockley Mill and Stables Museum is well worth a visit.
The Oberon Military Museum houses an array of weapons from World War 1 to the present. Also on display are medals and various items used by our Australian Armed Forces. Various other items used by the Australian Armed Forces are also on display.
Outside the museum stands The Light Horse, created by local talented artist and sculptor, Harrie Fasher.
Located on the corner of Oberon and Dudley Sts, the museum is open Wednesdays, and Fridays from noon until 4pm and Saturdays and Public Holidays from 10am to 4pm. Admission is free.
The Oberon and District Museum was established in 1989. It holds an interesting and varied collection of artifacts and memorabilia, including a 3D model of the township as it was in the 1930s. It has a functioning blacksmith’s shop, an array of old farming equipment and a very old, Oberon weatherboard cottage (circa 1887) with furniture filled rooms depicting how life was lived in those early years. There is also a huge array of photos, as well as an extensive collection of local family history.
Entry fee is $5 per person or $12 per family.
Opening hours are noon to 4.00pm on the first Saturday of each month, and 10.30am – 4.00pm every Sunday.
Other times by appointment.
Address: Corner of Lowes Mount Road and Scotia Ave: entry via Scotia Avenue
Contact: email@example.com or phone the Secretary on 0418 671 754
The Rockley Mill and Stables Museum, Budden St, Rockley is the focal point of the streetscape in Rockley village. Its deep red brick façade conveys a solid persistence that has withstood the rigours of time. The building houses items of historical interest which present a unique insight into nineteenth and early twentieth century rural life.
This fascinating village is listed in its entirety by the National Trust of NSW. The majority of its existing major buildings, which are numerous, were constructed between 1860 and 1890.