The Rotary Club of Oberon

Following an organisational meeting chaired by District Governor Roland Bigg of Canowindra, the Rotary Club of Oberon was chartered under Rotary International on 20 November 1968 with 22 original or charter members.

Oberon forms the eastern border of Rotary District 9700, which consists of 41 clubs and extends to Hay in the southwest. Other locations include Parkes, Forbes, Lake Cargelligo, Wagga, Coolamon, Griffith, Grenfell, Orange, Boorowa, Young and Cowra. The three Bathurst clubs and Blayney are our closest neighbours in the worldwide Rotary family of 1.2 million men and women.

The Rotary Club of Oberon spends about 70% of its funds in the local community. Projects range from assistance to families with a special need to local environmental projects. Over the years it has rewarded local businesses for excellence and individuals for outstanding community service. Young people are sponsored to participate in the various personal development and leadership courses under Rotary’s banner.

Catering at car rallies, farm clearing sales and other events provides a large part of the Club’s income, together with firewood and other raffles and other activities intended to keep the club visible in the local community. The Club also recognizes its affiliation with Rotary International through contributions to the Rotary Foundation, which funds major projects such as PolioPlus, dedicated to the world-wide eradication of poliomyelitis over the 20 years, which is now almost achieved.

To contact us